Yosemite open source code bits released

A few weeks ago I e-mailed Tim Cook and asked him when Apple was going to be more transparent with source code releases, and I don’t know if my e-mail helped or not (joke) but anyway, Apple did something new today. Yup. They released the open source bits used in OS X 10.10 Yosemite a bit sooner than usual. It is right there now so we don’t have to wait a couple more months, but don’t go looking for the lzvn_encode() and lzvn_decode() routines. Nope. You won’t find it. It’s not there. Just like we expected, otherwise I would not have spent so much time on it myself. Duh!

Edit

I have been sending e-mails with the same kind of requests to Apple reps for years, and most of the time I did not get a reply, but this time I actually got one saying: “We’re working on it“.

2 thoughts on “Yosemite open source code bits released

Leave a comment