iMac Pro Theft Protection…

I found some interesting data, used for soem form of mobile connectivity, in the firmware for the iMac Pro. Something that may lead to advanced theft protection. Read on…

Even the cheapest iMac Pro costs $4999 and is thus far more expensive than any other iMac model that is now available, let alone the top of the line one with a price tag north of $10K, and it is ‘relatively easy’ to walk away with a 27-inch computer, and that may be why Apple is going to introduce a new kind of “Find my iMac Pro” type of theft protection. One that phones home to report the exact GPS location. And there’s no way of switching it off…

It’s either this, or the iMac Pro will introduce a new feature that will use a SIM card to make phone calls. Or perhaps the data that I found has to be a leftover from iOS for the iPhone.

For now. We will have to wait and see what happens when the iMac Pro arrives.

Edit: Oops. The estimated price tag of the the top model – the one with the Xeon W-2192, 4TB SSD Storage and 128GB Memory – was set to $15K, but that should have read $10K.

Sorry folks. I was unable to correct this earlier due to a hardware failure – Internet modem issue.

5 thoughts on “iMac Pro Theft Protection…

  1. Hi Pike, what do you think about the rumors about Apple using a custom ARM chip in orden to start the boot process then pass control to the intel processor ?

    Would that be the end of hackintosh era?

    • Hi Antonio,

      I think that I was the first person to blog about the security enclave, back in June already, but it’s not the end of the hackintosh scene. The main purpose is to add a new layer of security. Which in my opinion is great. Clover may have issues with it, initially, but the developers have managed to move things forward time after time, so I wouldn’t be too concerned.

  2. The less exciting explanation is that the Xeon processors/large amounts of RAM use too much power for connected standby, a.k.a. power nap. A feature that requires constant connectivity is carrier Wi-Fi calling, so that is being shifted to the ARM processor.

  3. I have an X299 system (PRIME ASUS X299-DELUXE) with 2x Vega64 and Thunderbolt3. Everything is quite satisfactory. Since you obviously have access to an iMac Pro, I would like to get a complete ACPI from you. I am particularly interested in the internal DSDT and SSDTs regarding graphics card and Thunderbolt. I think there’s still a lot to learn. Can you help me with that?

    Thank you

Leave a comment