OS X Mavericks 10.9.3 (Build 13D28) Seeded

Apple seeded a fourth test build of OS X 10.9.3 (13D28) to registered Mac developers, available through the Software Update mechanism in the Mac App Store as well as through the Mac Dev Center.

Focus Areas

– Graphics Drivers
– Audio
– Safari
– Contacts and Calendar sync over USB in iTunes

Everyone else who is interested in testing OS X 10.9.3 (13D28) without being a registered Mac software developer can change their App Store URL by entering the following terminal command (all on one line):

sudo /usr/sbin/softwareupdate --set-catalog 
"https://swscan.apple.com/content/catalogs/others/index-10.9seed-10.9-mountainlion-lion-snowleopard-leopard.merged-1.sucatalog.gz"

Edit

You can restore to the original Apple catalog by resetting the override URL with help of the following terminal command:

sudo /usr/sbin/softwareupdate --clear-catalog

After that the CatalogURL property will be removed from /Library/Preferences/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate.plist and when everything went fine, you’ll see this text: softwareupdate: Changed catalog to Apple production
Back to the factory original (production) catalog.

Legal Notices

Use of this confidential, pre-release software is subject to the Software License Agreement for Apple Confidential OS X Pre-Release Seed Updates presented upon installation of the OS X Software Update Seed Configuration Utility. The original Software License Agreement that accompanied commercially-available versions of the software being updated does not apply to these pre-release seed updates.

Warning

This update won’t show up under Updates in the App Store when you are still using the 10.9.2 Golden Master (build 13A598) or already have OS X 10.9.3 (Build 13D28) installed.

Changes

This build is said to fix previously introduced graphics issues for people stuck on a white/gray screen. Here it only worked when I plugged in a VGA cable. VGA output was garbled nonetheless, but at least DP/DVI/HDMI worked with 13D21. Others had to unplug their cable and plug it back in after a successful boot. Yeah. Crazy stuff.

Interesting. I found a new board-id (Mac-C9CF552659EA9913) for a new/unknown Mac model.

The rest is TBD (no time yet).

8 thoughts on “OS X Mavericks 10.9.3 (Build 13D28) Seeded

  1. Hi Pike, since the 10.9.2 betas I started to suffer, some awful issues with my GTX 770M inside my Asus G750 laptop, black screen with chameleon and none output works (HDMI,miniDisplay Port, VGA) and with clover the machine restart before login screen (with 10.9 and 10.9.1 all works ok). It seems Apple has change the detection system inside the NVDAResman and NVDAGK100Hal kexts or maybe they just dropped LVDS support (I can boot into 10.9.2 changing this two kexts with the 10.9 -10.9.1 version) . Now I´m worried cause in 10.9.3 betas including this 13D28 build is the same , so I start to investigate this issue. Since kepler cards came to life, nobody needs to inject info for they cards to work, so actually we don´t know how the kepler cards detects the displays outputs, in my investigation I think this cards needs two injected info, one from the SSDT and the other from EFI, the apple drivers from 10.9 and 10.9.1 detects all the outputs in my G750 as “port-number 02 00 00 00” this port info is inside the NVDA,Display-A, B, C,D. Apple MacBook Pro and Imac have “port-number 00 00 00 00” for NVDA,DisplayA, “port-number 01 00 00 00” for NVDA,Display-B and so on up to “port-number 03 00 00 00” for the NVDA,Display D output. I think this port-number is declared in some way inside the SSDT, the apple´s SSDT have some info related to GFX management inside, but I just don´t know how it works.

    So I like to ask you to take a look inside some SSDT from apple´s MacbookPro and Imac to see if you can understand how this info works. Please help me..

    Good Luck

    • did anything ever come up regarding this? I have the same issue which I’ve basically ignored by keep putting the 10.9.1 drivers back on, but this means now I cant go to Yosemite 😦

      I’ve noticed if I inject the mac d50f device id instead of the default d10f then the connector type changes to 00 08 00 00 on all drivers, however this has no effect on the symptoms at all in either case, the old one works, the new one doesn’t.

      a monitor plugged into the HDMI port always works.

  2. I heard this update was a solution for an issue I am having. Not being the most literate of terminal commands and all sorts of things I am at a loss of why I can’t get this to “work.”

    I ran the command line 1 and 2 by copy pasting and that didn’t work. I fiddled around and ran the second line with the url following the first line all as one entry into Terminal. That worked. When I opened the app store I couldn’t find the download. When I went to just the url from line 2 in chrome I was brought to a page containing a lot of and other urls.

    Any idea of what I am missing or not doing correctly?

    Well guys hours later and I got an update pop up that notified me I could update. It was for this 10.9.3

    Thanks ^_^

  3. Pingback: Accès aux maj développeur OSX sans compte Dev - eXpérience ² Geek

Leave a comment