macOS Sierra log show problem…

I am having difficulties with the output of log show macOS Sierra 10.12.4 (currently still the Beta builds). The timezone seems to be off. Like way off what it should be.

I checked my date and time settings, and they are fine. Maybe not for the log show command, but the data and time – think clock – is fine. It also still works, on the same computer, with macOS Sierra 10.12.3

So. Is it just me or are you also experiencing the same kind of errors with 10.12.4?

Please try this terminal command:

log show --predicate 'process == "kernel"' --start "2017-03-01 14:05:56"

Note: Adjust the timestamp with: date -v -15M “+%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S” to get the last 15 minutes. Or anything else that works for you.

The above example shows some output here. With timestamp starting at 2017-03-01 14:05:56.456555+0000 but there are also lines with a future time. How is that even possible?

The console app is fine. It’s just the output of log show that is broken.

The next command should show events of the last 3 minutes. But no. Also broken:

log show --last 3m

Edit: I ran sudo log erase -all and still see events from 2017-02-27 and 2017-02-28. Erase isn’t working like it is supposed to work.

I also triggered an error and the Console.app showed the error with a timestamp of: 2017-03-01 10:35:56.944816 but the log show command shows the same error with: 2017-02-27 19:57:52.590919+0100

13 thoughts on “macOS Sierra log show problem…

  1. Greetings, my friend. I have a job for you for which I am willing to pay you $ 100 if you help me. I can give you the half ahead and the other when you finish. I do a lot of hackintosh for recording studios. I always do it with maverick since my clients use Protools 10 and that program only works with maverick. I would like to know if it is possible to port the XCPM patch for skylake and kabylake processors to maverick. If you can do that I will pay you by paypal.

  2. Is it valid to try and see into the future with “log show”?? – your date is tomorrow according to my calendar. Tried your second example of “show log –last 3m” and it works fine for me. I’m running 10.12.3 (16D32) on a 2010 MacBook Pro

    • Oops – forgot that was the point of your post – anyway the “future” show log command didn’t output anything at all for me other than the header information and zero values for Info, Debug, etc.

      Is there a link somewhere in your post showing the actual output you got? Don’t see anything where you talk about “…shows some output here…”

  3. Iv’e had problems with the clock even on real Macs and Sierra, where the normal clock is years off (2040) for a couple of minutes (Probably until next time sync). Not sure if that could be related.

  4. Hi. Pike. Tested in 10.12.4 (16E175b). Now in China it’s about 07:45 a.m. Yes. It must beyond your time zone.
    Run `log show –predicate ‘process == “kernel”‘ –start “2017-03-01 14:05:56″` and get no output. Correct. Cuz it’s a future time.
    Run `log show –last 3m`, just works fine. I can get some output.

    It seems that `log show` works fine for me…

    • The problem is that the timestamps are jumping back and forth. I have no idea why. It also works with 10.12.3 on the same computer so this isn’t a hardware related problem.

Leave a Reply

