Black screen with movable cursor…

I received a couple of question this month and one of them jumps out; Stuck on a black screen with a movable cursor.

Ok. I think I know what you mean and this is my work around for it (mentioned before in one of my replies in a blog post):

1.) Press enter (background image flashes shortly).

2.) Enter you password (screen is still black).

3.) There is your desktop.

Well. That’s it. Works every time for me. No matter what display connector that I use (HDMI, DVI or VGA).

p.s. You may run into this black screen with movable cursor if your PC failed to wake up, after you’ve used the on/off switch to boot again.

Update: Apple change something in 10.12.3 Beta (16D30a) and as a result the screen is no longer black.

8 thoughts on “Black screen with movable cursor…

  1. Too bad. I thought you had a trick for the famous black screen and reboot under clover while my config works like a charm under chameleon. I tried all the combinations without success till now. And by the way, enjoy the last day of the year and a bit in advance all my best wishes for 2017 !

  2. I got this issue after power outrage. I tried NVRAM and SMC Reset but it doesn’t help. I also tried your way but it doesn’t help either. I fix it like that;

    Boot to Single User Mode (hold Command+S immediately after powering on)
    Once in Single user mod, run the following commands:
    /sbin/fsck -fy
    /sbin/mount -uw /
    After the disk has mounted in, run the following commands:
    rm -f /Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow.plist
    rm -f /var/db/.AppleUpgrade
    After deleting the files, write reboot and hit the enter.
    Voila! Your login screens comes.

    • Thanks, but we here are – for now – only after the loginwindow workaround, and for that the technical correct way of solving this problem is:

      /sbin/fsck -fy
      /sbin/mount -uw /
      defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow autoLoginUserScreenLocked -boolean NO
      reboot

      Or you can delete the key with:

      sudo defaults delete /Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow autoLoginUserScreenLocked

    • Thanks, but no. That won’t fix it permanently. You have to do this every single time that you are stuck with the black screen/movable cursor on it. And since we here are not talking about a failed update, but a failed sleep/wake cycle, then pressing a key and entering your password is much simpler.

      • You are always correct. It’s not a permanent solution. I am using real iMac 9,1. My guess this black screen problem comes from Auto Login. How I test it? Normally I am always using auto login. When I close Auto Login, Black Screen and cursor come again. Then I used code in the single user mode above and create new login screen and I can just reach the my desktop with that way. I test it 5 times close auto login and each try this problem come back again.

Leave a Reply

