A Nice Evening Out In Amsterdam…

Some of you know that I work as a researcher in Amsterdam, and yesterday evening we had a birthday party for someone I work with. We went to Amsterdam Central with a group of people and we had a great evening. We returned late to Station Holendrecht, to find out that someone was shot – minutes earlier – sort of in front of the Academic Medical Center (AMC). We were stopped by Police. We could see paramedics trying to help someone laying on the pavement there, but his wounds were so severe that a 24 year old person died there.
We did not take any pictures. We don’t do that out of respect for the person who died there. I just copied one from a Dutch news site. To illustrate this tragic incident.

So Pike. What has this got to do with a hackintosh? Nothing. Nothing at all. It’s just that I am still sort of in shock. I mean. It’s not the first time that something like this happened, and it is no fun if you have to think about your own safety, and that of others, when you want to go out (in Amsterdam).

I am also starting to wonder if I should stay home (more often) with my wife and children. Money isn’t everything you know. And now that companies like Apple pays out bounties for hacking… I could do something else for a living. The problem is that I am no quitter so I cannot quit. Not now. Not for this reason. But when something starts itching…

5 thoughts on “A Nice Evening Out In Amsterdam…

  1. My personal opinion is that we all have an expiration date, some sooner then others but never the less it is coming. For my short years on this planet I’ve learned to do good as much as I can. When you do something and you know that your action did some good to somebody, anybody, you have that feeling of accomplishment, a true accomplishment that can’t be bought with money.

    You’re right, money isn’t everything, and any millionaire with a deadly decease will agree with you. I don’t have the pleasure of knowing what being parent is, but it is one of the joys that some take for granted.

    At the end, life is all about balance.

    Sorry for the lengthy rant, dealing with hex numbers made my eyes numb, honestly man, I can’t even imagine how you do it🙂

  2. This really makes you appreciate your health and family. I agree with you that it can really make you think about a change. Thanks for sharing.

    By the way, what’s your day job?

  3. Be safe man, thankfully I think this kind of things happen quite rarely in Amsterdam. All always follow your passion and your heart. We can’t be grateful enough for the work you do for the hackintosh community.

  4. That’s a great post Piker, I have the traumatic experience of watching my wife die in front of me and the resulting experience of delivering CPR to save her … Successfully I might add, but the brain damage she sustained is extreme and the guilt I feel at times is intense. I understand more than most of how fragile life is and how much love is so important and yet taken for granted. To all that read this, look after yourselves and those you love more than life itself, it can all be snuffed out in the blink of an eye, never ever take it for granted.

    Pike, I admire your courage, but revealing your work greatly increases the odds in big A’s favour of hunting you down, you’re way to valuable to be bankrupted by legal fees to both us as a community and to your research fellows …

    All the best to you and yours and in the immortal words of Hill Street Blues, ‘You be careful out there!’


Leave a Reply

