Getting Safari to work with Intel® HD Graphics 530

Someone e-mailed me and asked me if Safari is working on my Skylake configuration with QE/CI and yes it is, but only with this Safari preference set:

defaults write "" 0

Without this setting, and a restart of Safari, it fails to even load a single page. Well. Only very, very slow perhaps, but here is the result after I set the above preference:
Safari on Intel HD Graphics 530
You can also enable the Debug menu in Safari with:

defaults write IncludeInternalDebugMenu 1

Giving you easy access to a whole lot more settings😉

15 thoughts on “Getting Safari to work with Intel® HD Graphics 530

  1. Hi Pike,
    Speaking of El Capitan, you mentioned on a previous post that you might be able to help getting the 5960X booting. Right now using this CPU results in a hang at PCI Configuration Begin. Over at insanelymac some users have collected ACPI tables for the 5960x (which does not boot) and the Xeon E5-2693 V3 (which does boot) on the same motherboard. Let us know if you might be able to help us figure out what might be different about the 5960X which causes the hang up!

      • Hi Pike,
        I realize that you’re busy with many projects and might not be able to work through the issues with the 5960X–– I’d love to take a crack at the problem myself as well. Do you have any particular recommendations for places to start within the ACPI tables from the DarwinDumps? I’ve checked for differences and they definitely exist versus the 5930K versus the 5960X, but I’m having trouble determining which could be important.

      • Please e-mail me the zipped AML files and I’ll look at it during the flight to Amsterdam on monday, and I’ll contact you next weekend, when I am home again.

      • Thanks.

        I already had a quick look and one thing that I noticed was that with the 5820K installed, this operation region is always using the same address, all 44 of them:
        OperationRegion (MCTL, SystemMemory, 0x6001B188, 0x04)
        But with the 2690 V3 and the 5930K/5960X installed it goes up in groups of four, like this one for example:
        OperationRegion (MCTL, SystemMemory, 0x60000188, 0x04)
        I know that Clover is capable of changing the address, so now I wonder if you are all using the same setting for this. Are you?

        Next to that. There are so many different setups, like one of them is using a generated SSDT, but doesn’t drop the PM related tables, and the others not. This is making any kind of comparison more difficult. Why not start with matching it up, and this includes Mac model and board-id’s. This to exclude any kind of failure due to the used setup. This also includes GPU and HDA configurations.

        I’ll have another look at the PCI related kexts next week…. so hang in😉

      • Pike, thanks so much for looking at this!

        Right, definitely makes sense to try and get everything on the same page. I’ll see if I can rally everyone up to converge on a particular set of settings. I know that we’ve all tried every combination of mac models with no success, but for comparison it definitely makes sense to send the same ones.

        Looking forward to seeing if you find anything interesting in the PCI related info!

        Out of curiosity, do you suspect these sorts of issues to work themselves out if Apple adds C612 chipset support with Broadwell-EP? I have my fingers crossed they release an updated Mac Pro with C612 support before 10.12 hits…

  2. Hi Pike,
    I think we’ve got the files you need to get working on this! Could you send your email address?

    Edit: Alright, I’ve sent them off–– thanks again for offering your help with this!


Leave a Reply

