My first time in Sweden

We are currently in Sweden and for the folks wondering where exactly, since Sweden is a rather large country, this is the place I am visiting at the moment.
Not the best picture (quality) but daylight is short and little around here (taken the night before). Oh. And this is the view from the SciLifeLab building to the other side of the road (towards Upsalla Science Park).
There isn’t much to look at. Except for the Christmas lights up in the trees maybe. And not just these but everywhere. I mean people in Sweden must love to put up lights in trees. Don’t get me wrong. I love it. And not just that. Look at this picture.
Note the text: “Alltid öppet” or “Always open”. Yup. The McDonalds, BurgerKing, MAX and sometimes PizzaHut and KFC as well (or was that that when we drove through Denmark?) can be found everywhere. Especially next to tank stations, and they are open 24/7. Man. I have never seen this much of them when we drove through a country. Not that I get much junk food but anyway. Oh by the way. This picture was taken at the time that I was cleaning the car windows (our car was shipped to Hamburg before we booked our tickets).

Well. This has to be it for now… back to the seminar (preparations). Later folks!

p.s. Oh. You may wonder what I am doing here. Well. I’m not ‘just a developer’ but I also have a PhD in something totally unrelated to computer science (et all) and that is part of who I am and what I do for a living. I know. Questions… questions and more questions. Good luck puzzling (to some of you).

Edit: It is great to be here and to be able to visit friends in Denmark, and a long time friend in Darmstadt Germany afterwards. Yeah Sweden… definitely a country to come back to. Next year already.

Yeah. I certainly want to do something for human mankind, and I should, and if that means that I will have little to no time left for the ‘hackintosh community’ then so be it. Thing is. I got carried away and somehow felt like it was my fault that the bone marrow transplantation of my sister failed. I am over it now so it is time for me to act and carry that Doctor badge that I worked so hard for, and carry it with pride on my chest, and do what I was meant to be… Not to hide in vain and rot away.

I’d like to thank Google Inc. for taking me up in time of need and helping me, guiding me through what I think was the toughest period of my life. We’ll depart with pride, and I will always be grateful to all of you – you know who you are. Always and forever, with pride,

Dr. Pike R. Alpha

10 thoughts on “My first time in Sweden

  1. Oh, maybe I guessed what seminar you might be at. Interesting stuff. Good luck, and have a super time in Sweden (I live nearby in Finland – this time of year isn’t my favourite for the weather..)

    • Yes I am, but I am not an Oncologist (think virology).

      I’d also like to add that I never had a single hour of computer/programming lessons. I mean like never ever in my entire life. Everything I did so far/do here is self-taught. Perhaps a bit hard to swallow, for some people, but it is the honest truth.

      • I guess it’s mostly surprising to people who never tried anything like this themselves. You just don’t learn reverse engineering or anything like that at school/university. Especially programming stuff can quite easily be self taught since computers are entirely man-made. Stuff can get confusing, but usually no magic involved🙂
        “Hacking” the nature (if you like) is much more difficult.

        I already learned a lot about programming in my free time when I was at school. Later I studied electrical engineering (where I had some programming lessons which didn’t teach me anything new), and learned very quickly that you’ll have to teach a lot to yourself to get your degree.
        And it’s even more important if you’re doing science afterwards.

        Anyway, I’ve quietly followed your blog for some time now and hope you’ll continue doing some hackintosh stuff in the future, always very interesting to read!🙂

  2. I just recently stumbled upon your blog after much reading on the tonymacx86 site. I wanted to say thanks for all your hard work and research in the Hackintosh community. I hope you will still continue your research despite the tactics of your opponents!

    I travel to Darmstadt for my job quite often. I hope you have a great stay there!

Leave a Reply

