Signing off…

I am signing off. Yup. A new week and a new challenge. Minutes away from strabismus surgery. After that the double vision troubles should be over and then I hope to go back to work a.s.a.p.

Note that I won’t return to the “IM Hackintosh Community” as it is. Not before we have some sort of trust system for forums and the like. That itself may be a problem, when not enough people are willing to share their details to gain a little extra trust/respect, but we’ll see how that works out in 2016.

Oh. We are also going on a holiday – leaving sometime next week – to see the Northern Lights. Never seen it myself, and since dad is there already, the rest of the family will join him. So for now…

Happy Holidays!!

Edit: Operation is done and it is a success. Thanks for the kind e-mails folks!

Note to Reinhard B. We refunded your donation. Please let me know when you received it. Thanks!

13 thoughts on “Signing off…

  1. Sorry to hear, but respect your decision. The community is a tough one and good work does not always get the respect it deserves.
    Good luck with the surgery, and have a great holiday. The Northern Lights are on my list for this year too – hope they come out and play for you.
    Take care and best wishes to you.

  2. A quick post script – your blog is the only one that I have ever subscriber to and while I do not understand everything in it always it has helped me immeasurably over the years. So, before I forget, “Thank You!”.

  3. Enjoy your break and best of luck with the surgery. Only just catching up with your recent rollercoaster; all the best for the holidays and I hope 2016 brings you a little less drama.

  4. I’m sure your strabismus surgery will be a complete success, Pike! You’ll be as good as new. And happy holidays! We’ll talk when you are back in, what, a couple of months? All the best.

  5. I always found forum-based communities tedious, and to do any kind of development, issue tracking etc, is for me plain unthinkable. Too much is lost in noise. The kind of newbies that demand help in every topic and fail at basic reading skills.

    Not to mention trolls that breed like rabbits, and straight away shady individuals you cannot easily weed out.

    Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to be an elitist, but essentially *porting* an OS to new hardware is real hard. Given the OS we want to run, things won’t “just work”. Given it’s not open source in a few crucial parts, it will always be an eternal buggy pre-alpha technical preview.

  6. Pingback: Hackintosh scene in apparent hibernation mode… – Pike's Universum

Leave a Reply

