What is the point of sharing…

What is the point of sharing… if (some) people do not respect the license under which your work is published?

I mean. The license clearly states:

You must give appropriate credit, provide a link to the license, and indicate if changes were made. You may do so in any reasonable manner, but not in any way that suggests the licensor endorses you or your use.

And if someone ‘forgets’ the rules and you remind them about the hard work you/your family have put into it, then you get comments like:

I take it that modesty is not your strong suit.”😛

Or this one:

If it wasn’t invented by Pike then his father did.

Yeah budhead. You missed the news; Pull the earbuds out of your ears and listen, for once. I know that some of you can’t stand it, but it is a simple fact; my family did – and still does – a crap load of work for the OS X community.

So in short. Me hunting down this kind of issues has absolutely nothing to do with lack of modesty, but the lack of respect for hard work… time put in by someone else, and then you leave me with no other option; I have to remind you about it. Or is paying respect not a word in your vocabulary?

If not, then I would like to suggest that you look somewhere else for help/solutions and not use our work. Oh wait! You won’t be booting OS X today without the solutions we offered in the past. Yeah really…

Thank you for reading this blog post, and respecting our time, energy and hard work we’ve put into it. I presume that, from now on, you won’t forget to read and respect the license. Thanks😉


7 thoughts on “What is the point of sharing…

  1. You should also give an example of how and where to credit you. IOW, define “appropriate credit”. BSD licences do it. GPL does it. CC does not but you really should indicate whether it goes into readme, or header files, or whatever.

    • That’s a good one, but so does the CC license:

      If supplied, you must provide the name of the creator and attribution parties, a copyright notice, a license notice, a disclaimer notice, and a link to the material. CC licenses prior to Version 4.0 also require you to provide the title of the material if supplied, and may have other slight differences.

      Note: There is a link to this text on the license page.

  2. Most, if not all of us respect your work and contributions. Unfortunately we also don’t know where the comments you refer to come from… With that said, the majority of the hack community understands you and your families contributions are why we are running Hacks today… Regards-

    • Thank you. I know. It is only a small number (handful?) of people who do not, and I should have made it clear, but I did not want to add a link/name someone in particular – though the person I am referring to will certainly know what I am talking about. In short. I must correct the blog article.

  3. As a non technical user of your wonderful efi bootloader for Yosemite I am eternally grateful for the effort you and you associates have put in to supporting my MacPro 1,1. I had spent many hours trying to understand how to achieve this and then I found the MacRumors thread and there was the ‘pre-patched Piker-Alpha bootable Yosemite installer’. Simple to use and it worked firtst time. I’m sure there are lots of users like me who recognise the work and effort this support requires – don’t let the graceless comments of just a few make you despair. Huge Thanks… Tim

  4. Pike… really: I just can say that i always respect your (and others of course) hard work for the entire OS X Comunity. Never mind is it Hackintosh related or like in my case “just” to provide an boot.efi with which i can run my MacPro2,1 with the newest OSes. For this i want to say

    Thanks mate!

Leave a Reply

