New update

I am working on a new update for and I would like to hear from you what… if anything, that you would want to see in the new update.

Support for El Capitan is a must have for me, so don’t you worry about that. Already taken care of. System Integrity Protection checks are in place (function _getSIPStatus()) and appears to be functioning properly.

One other thing that I already fixed is issue 15.

I also renamed -d (target directory) to -t (makes sense no?) and now use -d to enable debug output.

I also added a new function called _getVolumeName() and this is what I have come up with:

diskutil info / | grep "Volume Name" | sed -e 's/.*: *//

Do you know about a shorter variant, then please let me know about it. Thanks.

18 thoughts on “New update

    • Even it is not any normal use case, take the following as example:

      cd /Volumes
      sudo ln -s / bla

      bla has size 1B.

      ls -1rS /Volumes/ | head -n1
      return bla…

      Better stick to the diskutil

      • hmmm.. interesting.
        I tried it with a symbolic links before posting and here the symbolic link was shown as 4 bytes.

        lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 4 4 Sep 16:03 bla -> /bla

        Just tried again on a PowerPC G5 running 10.5.8 and three different macs running 10.6.8, 10.10.5 & 10.11 DP7 respectively and never does a symbolic link show as 1 byte.

        lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 1 3 Sep 13:40 Macintosh HD -> /
        lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 4 4 Sep 16:52 bla -> /bla
        lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 5 4 Sep 16:52 bla2 -> /bla2
        lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 5 4 Sep 16:52 bla3 -> /bla3
        lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 5 4 Sep 16:52 bla4 -> /bla4

        Maybe the result you see is down to the format of the drive or journaling? all the systems I’ve tested are using Mac OS Extended (Journaled).

        Anyway, no biggie. I agree with you that using diskutil is probably the right way to do it, and I use it myself in a couple of apps when I’ve needed to build disk information. Never the less, I think it’s always good to look for alternative ways of doing things if just for the learning experience.

  1. My disk is also formatted jhfs+.
    1B is only if the target symlink contains “/”, as in
    bla -> /
    bla2 -> /
    Macintosh HD -> /

    You have more characters in “/bla”. Therefore it is more than 1B.
    Anyway you are right. There is never a wrong way, if it gets you to the answer…
    I also did learn something from your one liner…

  2. I use a real classic Mac Pro rather than a Hackintosh but also experience problems in that Apple do not enable HDMI Audio on video cards like the Radeon HD 7950. Until now I have been using the HDMI Audio 1.1 kext as a solution which works fine for Yosemite. However being that this kext is not signed it would require disabling SIP for El Capitan.

    I would therefore hope that your solution also addresses support for real Macs as well and does not require disabling SIP.

    • Both Yosemite and El Capitan allow you to disable a subset of checks, like kext signature checks, and you only need to disable it temporarily, to get unsigned kext(s) added to your kernelcache, because after that you can re-enable SIP again.

Leave a Reply

