Processor C-States

Yah! I have good news guys. I finally figured it out. The bad news is that I have no time to document it right now but I will later today. Check back in in a few hours from now!

A new version of AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementInfo.kext (v3.4) will also be released later today.

Oops. I forgot that I had a birthday party and thus I was unable to finish my work in time. Let’s try again next week. Giving me some slack to release a brand new script. One that people will need to debug stuff.

Ok. I first need to update to make it work for certain motherboards that use _HID set to ACPI0004 to declare the processor objects from a Device scope. Without this it fails to work on these motherboards. I’ll try to commit a new update a.s.a.p. Done.

10 thoughts on “Processor C-States

  1. You know, that’s like Fermat writing a little note in his margins “I have this great little elegant proof of this theorem, but can’t write it here just now”. :0

  2. i believe it isn’t a small group of people…
    by the way, yesterday I notice that my old i7 860 (2.8 GHz, 21x 133mhz) was miss configured as imac 11.3 that uses an i7 870 (2.93Ghz, 22x 133mhz) but my surprise is it have been work as 2.93ghz with 22x multiplier like as it was a real i7 870 for one year (checked with DPCIManager, Clover bootloader with native CpuPm, without droping any SSDT or generate states). So, I think it is possible to overclock some some CPU models by software, using some kind of fake ids and smbios config to access higher P states and turbo modes. I notice it yesterday and think it is important to share, even it is an old CPU model.

Leave a Reply

