OS X Mavericks 10.9.2 (Build 13C44) Seeded

Apple seeded a third test build of OS X 10.9.2 (13C39) to registered Mac developers, available through the Software Update mechanism in the Mac App Store as well as through the Mac Dev Center.


Focus Areas
– Mail
– Messages
– Graphics Drivers
– VoiceOver

Everyone else interested in testing OS X 10.9.2 (13C44) without being a registered Mac developer can download OSXUpdCombo10.9.2.pkg with help of: https://swscan.apple.com/content/catalogs/others/index-10.9seed-10.9-mountainlion-lion-snowleopard-leopard.merged-1.sucatalog.gz

Please note that I may not share direct links to unreleased Apple software here so you will have to search for “OSXUpdCombo10.9.2.pkg” with help of the above link.

Hmm. It may be me, but it doesn’t seem like a lot was changed. Only a hand full of kexts. Not even one that we are interested in.

38 thoughts on “OS X Mavericks 10.9.2 (Build 13C44) Seeded

  1. Actually, this build includes an AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext .. the one that supports IB Xeons. Previous builds did not.

    All other OS X versions do not have the AICPM with support for IB Xeons except for the original nMP build it ships with.

      • Yes. I even rechecked all the packages that I downloaded. Am I missing something? Do you see AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext in any of the update packages?

      • Yes pike , it is inside OSXUpdCombo10.9.2.pkg S/L/E

        Instead, inside PlatformSupport.plist seems to be missing MacPro 6,1 in SupportedModelProperties

        not relevant?

      • Flabbergasted. Don’t know what is going on.
        Please select AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext in SystemProfiler/Extensions and make a screenshot of it.

      • main AICPM.kext shows this:


        Version: 216.0.0
        Last Modified: 9/20/13, 7:16 AM
        Loaded: Yes
        Obtained from: Apple
        Kind: Intel
        Architectures: x86_64
        64-Bit (Intel): Yes
        Location: /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext
        Kext Version: 216.0.0
        Load Address: 18446743521838600000
        Valid: Yes
        Authentic: Yes
        Dependencies: Satisfied
        Signed by: Software Signing, Apple Code Signing Certification Authority, Apple Root CA

        but internal System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/Contents/MacOS unix files shows:
        Created: January 17, 2014 at 4:47 AM
        Modified: January 17, 2014 at 4:47 AM

      • Right. Now enter:

        md5 /S*/L*/Extensions/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/C*/M*/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement

        Giving me: MD5 (AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement) = 379c8ce832a7bace12d6cc42281038e0

        If you have the same, then Apple only ‘touched’ it. There is no new file.

      • MD5 (/System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement) = 5f11ad5710f79dd0e6bf61d05f552ac7

        and then, with previous my Xeon v2 was not seen and I have to patch it
        now it is seen OOTB

      • I understand that you previously had to patch it, but I just re-downloaded OSXUpdCombo10.9.2.pkg once more and the stupid file is still the same. It has the same md5 checksum so like I said. I don’t know what is going on.

        Where do you download the PKG? I know that some folks here used this link:


        But like I said. That too has the md5 checksum I have here.

        I also don’t understand why Apple would keep using 216.0.0 as version number when they clearly changed the file. That makes no sense to me.

    • Aha. This may explain why I said that I didn’t understand why you guys even needed the bin-patch since I have that file since 20 September 2013 already. Seems like I was right after all. You guys simple used some older version that required patching. Maybe because I use a real late 2013 Mac Pro to get these updates?

      • I see. Thanks.

        Note: For folks who do not know what a Sandy Bridge-E processor is:

        i7-3970X (six cores)
        i7-3860X (six cores)
        i7-3930K (six cores)
        i7-3820 (four cores)

      • Pike,
        Does it make sense to you that Sandy Bridge-EP (Xeon E5-2620) still is stuck at max regular speed? (I’ve been getting 2 states with NullCPUPM for a few months now).
        Seems like quite variable results out there, but there’s also a lot of processor variation.

    • Like I said. I probably used the installer for the late 2013 Mac Pro. I also compared the checksums (md5) and they are the same.

      Oh my God. I basically said that I had the file since September 2013 already… guess I was lucky enough to have one long before anyone else🙂 Never mind. Problem solved😉

  2. Maybe you have things before normal people!🙂

    i only don’t understand why also with this version I can’t use your new AICPMI kext
    Thank you again for your efforts

  3. sorry maybe I don’t understand.
    i used offline method from link found in this blog in different days after apple releasing 10.9.2 beta 3

  4. My problem is quite peculiar (hackintosh), I had 10.9.1 running properly on this board (Z9PE-D8) of course without PM/SpeedStep/Turbo with a pair of Xeons v1 (Sandy). Installing this new combo update does something strange.

    After installing it, system boots fine then becomes sluggish as hell, machine becomes unresponsive, and after some use the screen flashes and back to login screen or even reboot.

    Anyone experiencing something similar ?

    trying to be more descriptive, this happens when using Chameleon or Clover… I’m not using any patched kext at the moment either. This happens with or without a DSDT…

    I’m a noob, so don’t be harsh and I’m trying to understand all the technical stuff I’ve been reading through the different posts/comments.


    • I’ve noticed that 13c44 nvidia drivers are older than 10.9.1, I tried replacing those but same thing. Managed to get a beta bios version of the Z9PE-D8 board to test if it’s related to the slot the GPU is in.

      Otherwise I tried generating a proper SSDT & DSDT, but CPU seems to be still unrecognized (I’m currently using two E5-2650 v1). Also tried SMcputype 2561 but no luck.

      • Have you checked the ioregistry to see if the value gets set? If not. Copy/paste this into a terminal window:

        ioreg -rp IODeviceTree -c IOACPIPlatformDevice -k cpu-type|grep cpu-type

        What do you get?

  5. Hi DKMN
    Right click on your link save linked file and read the contents with a txt editor
    You should find what you are asking for

    • Fabio,
      Ah, thanks. Missed that the first time. Saw too many URLs but now I realize only a few pertain to the update, and only one set to the combo pkg. Thanks!

  6. Try 2561, 2562 or 2563

    Also, I forgot to mention Chameleon changed SMcputype to SMoemcputype after version 2266. Try SMoemcputype instead of SMcputype. That will work.

  7. Anyone have any early experience with 13C48 to share?
    Any particular reason to try or not try it right now?
    (P9X79WS and Xeon E5-2620 v1 (SB) here…)

Leave a Reply

