MacPro6,1 Geekbench results

Vroom…. Here is the new Apple MacPro6,1 Geekbench score

Dude! That is not an Apple model identifier you say. Correct. AAPLJ90,1 is not the usual suspect, but this is the new Mac Pro! Trust me – Apple isn’t ready to share it at this time.

Oh and more goodies are coming. Soonish😉

Edit: I like to add a few notes on what I think may impact the result in a bad way. First. This score is done with an unreleased Intel Xeon E5-2697 (2.70 GHz) and engineering sample of the EFI BIOS:


And we hack folks know what a few little SMBIOS changes can do with a Geekbench score. BOOM. Also. It runs a beta version (Build 13A2054) of OS X 10.9 Mavericks and probably the most important thing to note here is that power management isn’t working properly. Not yet! Which I assure you is very important.

And lastly. Geekbench – with all due respect – isn’t the best tool to give people an idea of what a Mac Pro does/can do. Not testing the new ultra fast Apple SSD and it also does nothing with the new AMD twin graphics boards, so in short we get:

Lower clock rate.
Single versus double CPU configuration.
Less energy consumption.
New form factor (a lot smaller).
Stunning look (first Mac Pro to get a place on my desk)
Thunderbolt 2 (twice the speed)

Do I need to say more?

Oh wait! Look here:

Two 2.40GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon processors (12 cores) – default
Two 2.66GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon processor (12 cores) – optional
Two 3.06GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (12 cores) – optional

Yup. That are in fact the processors used in the current Mac Pro, and thus the Geekbench score we have here might as well be that of an entry-level build, and with optional faster processors – when Intel plans to make any – come higher scores!

Maybe some people need to relax a little, sit back and wait for an updated score. Let’s all go blame Intel for not releasing new processors earlier. Nah. Just kidding… I’m far more concerned about the price of this shiny beauty. Don’t you?

14 thoughts on “MacPro6,1 Geekbench results

  1. Intel is planning to release E7 with 15 cores – maybe Appple will also use it… But there is one important thing – I think we will be able to build hackintosh with 2 CPUs and in new MacPro will be only one…

    • I don’t think that the E7 will be used, but yeah two processors should be possible. However. I personally won’t do it. I’m not interested in setting up a hack as Mac Pro because when I need that much power, then want the real deal. Not a hack (to me making money with a hack is wrong).

  2. The one they showed at WWDC was only a single CPU so unless you know were they plan to put 4 more dim slots of ram for the other CPU then it will only be a single CPU. You need 4 dims per CPU for Quad Channel Memory support.

  3. Hey Pikeralpha,
    You are quickly becoming my new hero. Really enjoying the breakdowns and frequent updates. Please keep it up. and don’t forget about iGPU QE support🙂 at this rate by the time 10.8.5 is out we might have fully working Haswell builds. very exciting. Thanks!

    • Thank you. I’ll try and do my best with updates, but not during my honeymoon trip. Oh and about QE/CI. That is already working with OS X 10.9 Mavericks DP2. In fact everything but CPU power management is fully functional.

  4. Pike I noticed 1 error but I couldn’t find anything on it, I was wondering you could steer me into the right directions. I think I almost got rid of all the errors.. Here is what I get when I load “sudo dmesg”

    ACPI: Executed 1 blocks of module-level executable AML code
    ACPI: sleep states S3 S4 S5
    ACPI: cannot translate ACPI object 14

    I also included the new updated info “major breakthrough on Power management”

      • Yes.. I’m loading a DSDT that was patched using “8series-clean-compile”, I wasn’t even sure if my board (GA-Z87X-HD3) even needed a DSDT. I extracted my DSDT using MaciASL, and applied a patch called “8-series-clean-compile” basically fixed the main Errors, then I went into the editor opened DSDT.aml and manually changed a few warnings from “NonSterilized to Sterilized” this got rid of the warnings. had zero warning and zero errors. Maybe I need another way of extracting a cleaner or more reliable DSDT.aml

        let me know if you’d like to see the DSDT

      • Add -v debug=0x12a acpi_layer=0x08 acpi_level=0x02 msgbuf=309212
        to Kernel Flags in: /L*/P*/SystemC*/
        and reboot after you’ve run
        Then check: /var/log/system.log to find the source of the error.

Leave a Reply

