Setting up a test lab

Only a select number of people will ever get an invitation from companies like Gigabyte to do LN2 benching in their OC lab, and since I wasn’t invited for the grand opening, we’ll have to do it with a setup that was used by Team Australia.
The main purpose of sharing this picture here is to give you a rough idea what a LN2 lab setup may look like. My room for example is much smaller, but then again I’m not Gigabyte. I’m on a tight budget, but I do happen to have a window and balcony. And the table and wall plate pretty much looks like what I have here (10mm square holes with a 38mm distance). Be it in a different colour.

The Setup
Ok so what else is there to see. I see a table with two power supplies on it. Required for the SLI setup, though we would probably just add another one. At the wall there is a yellow blow torch, used to heat up the pot when someone hits the cold bug. There are probes and tools to measure temperatures. You also need a (few) multi-meters to monitor, well, the voltages. There’s a (Samsung?) monitor showing a Windows – no comments – and I also see blue cloths wrapped around the pot (think insulation) and underneath the motherboard. There’s also some other unimportant stuff which we will skip for now. Oops. I almost forgot the red Corsair Force Series GT SSD hanging between some of the PSU cables. What an excellent spot for a SSD. Well. That is basically it… if we skip the dewars with LN2 in it. Whatever. All just to give you an idea.

No Test Bench?
What I don’t understand is why they don’t have/use any test benches. Like the nice Sahara Yellow DimasTech test bench I have here. That not only has room for two PSU’s – with optional extra PSU bracket – but also makes everything stay where it need to be. Like my SSD and two radiators – room for up to five of which three on top of the table. This enables me to bench boards with a water-cooling setup, without the need of having to do the same kind of work over and over again.

Ok. There was one thing that I had to make myself, and that was a neoprene cover for the top. You know to prevent spilled LN2 to boil off the paint and to stop LN2 from going into the PSU, which is right under the motherboard. And on top of the neoprene I have cloths to soak up the condensation. Another thing that I don’t see is a fan on the pot, which we use to suck off evaporated stuff. Without one you get a lot more ice on the outside of your pot. Which you don’t want. This means that this setup wasn’t completely ready. Work in progress so to speak.

No Pictures
Yes. There aren’t any pictures of my lab. Not yet, but the thing is that my lab is being worked on as we speak. Not to mention that it isn’t pretty and thus I want to work on it before I show you what I have to work with. Just give me some time to finish it up. I’ll share pictures of my table, wall, DimasTech test bench, power filter, power meter, power measurement equipment with data logging, wall mounted UPS, Fluke multi-meter, Fluke temperature meter, Fluke AMP clamp, Weller Station, hand tools and a lot of other stuff.

What’s Next?
The list is even longer. However. That stuff isn’t mine. Still have to add a few more items to my list, but it is getting pretty darn expensive. Way too expensive says my girlfriend, and she is right because we also need to think about the other stuff we need/want. Like owning a Vespa and maybe a two or three week vacation. We have to because I proposed to my girlfriend and she said yes! Woohoo. Yes. We are about to enter a new chapter in our relationship. Can’t wait. Life is too short already so we better enjoy it to the fullest.

2 thoughts on “Setting up a test lab

    • LOL One thing will, the electricity bill. I mean looking at the four EVGA GTX Titan SuperClocked cards, that draws more power than we here use in a week.

Leave a Reply

