AICPUPMI and Haswell update

First we had something like this:

AICPUPMI: CPU P-States [ 16 24 29 (33) 34 35 36 37 ]

Then I lowered APSN – old news – and got this:

AICPUPMI: CPU P-States [ 16 (21) 24 29 33 34 35 36 42 45 ]

And now it also shows the reached P-States for the IGPU:

AICPUPMI: CPU P-States [ 16 (21) 24 29 33 34 35 36 42 45 ] GPU P-States [ 17 18 19 (20) 21 22 ]

Much better this way. Go get the source here
Oh and in case you don’t get the OC thing. I have only changed the top multiplier to 45. This way I can boot quicker, but without heating my room and burning the solar Amps for nothing.

One more thing. The Haswell hardware arrived and my oh my. What a shock. First. I need a new case. Not that it wouldn’t fit in the case that I am using right now, but I don’t want something this nice to be hidden in a case under/next to my desk. I want it to be right there in front of me. On my desk. Thus… I need a new custom case design. Something special. Maybe an oak bottom with polished aluminium in between and a glass cover on top of it. SSD’s hidden in the bottom. Pico power supply. Hmm. What about submerging the whole thing? Nah. I just don’t know what I want. Time will tell.

Now the not-so-good part of it. The UEFI appears to be locked down to Windows 8. Either that or I am doing something utterly stupid – gave it my best shot today and tried literally everything – or it isn’t completely ready. It is probably the latter, hopefully, or something RevoBoot can’t handle yet. Don’t you worry. We will get the Haswell going. Thing is. We’ve only worked a few hours with it, and stuff this new normally takes time. A lot of time even so be patient.

Please do not ask for photographs because I cannot share anything that may help other manufacturers… or we may end up getting nothing anymore.

2 thoughts on “AICPUPMI and Haswell update

    • Yes. One based on the top of the notch Intel Z87 chipset. And we can only hope that Asus will revert this in a next UEFI update, otherwise Clover will be in trouble. At least until someone figured it all out again (there’s a TM lock also).

      I should also have mention that the UEFI implementation I am using right now, won’t be used for production boards. This one is not intended for commercial use.

      I cannot predict the future of Chameleon, but I do believe that using non OSS modules (think NVRAM) wasn’t their smartest idea.

Leave a Reply

